مصر في المركز 94 في تقرير التنافسية العالمي لعام 2011/2012

المتحدث : إيمان العيوطي، المركز المصري للدراسات الاقتصادية

سبتمبر 2011

القاهرة – سبتمبر 2011: احتلت مصر المرتبة 94 (من بين 142 دولة) في مؤشر التنافسية العالمية، وذلك في أحدث تقارير التنافسية العالمية الذي أصدره المنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي لعام 2011-2012. وتكون مصر بذلك قد تراجعت 13 مركزا عن ترتيبها في التقرير السابق لعام 2010-2011 (من بين 139 دولة). ويقوم مؤشر التنافسية العالمية بحساب تنافسية كل دولة استنادا إلى أدائها في ثلاث ركائز رئيسية، هي: المتطلبات الأساسية، ومحفزات الكفاءة، وعوامل الابتكار والتطور، ويتم ترجيح هذه الركائز وفقا لمرحلة التنمية التي تمر بها كل دولة. ووفقا لتصنيف مصر هذا العام كدولة تمر بمرحلة انتقالية من اقتصاد يستند إلى الموارد إلى اقتصاد تدعمه الكفاءة فإن القدر الأكبر من الترجيح يقع على المتطلبات الأساسية ومحفزات الكفاءة. وتجدر الإشارة إلى أن المركز المصري للدراسات الاقتصادية، بصفته مؤسسة شريكة للمنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي، يقوم بإعداد الجزء الخاص بمصر في تقرير التنافسية العالمية.

وبالنسبة للمتطلبات الأساسية، فقد تراجع ترتيب مصر هذا العام نتيجة الضعف الذي يعكس أوجه القصور في الهيكل المؤسسي والبنية التحتية والتعليم الأساسي. وعلى وجه الخصوص، يعكس القصور المؤسسي تزايد المحسوبية حيث تفتقر قرارات المسئولين الحكوميين إلى الشفافية، فضلا عن ارتفاع التكلفة التي تتحملها منشآت الأعمال نظرا لزيادة معدل انتشار الجريمة، بالإضافة إلى عدم تطبيق حوكمة الشركات بالدرجة الكافية. وترتبط جودة البنية التحتية بصفة رئيسية بكفاية وكفاءة الطرق والموانئ وتوريد الكهرباء، في حين يتعلق الجانب الخاص بالتعليم الأساسي بمدى جودة وكفاءة المدارس والمناهج التعليمية. وفضلا عن ذلك مازال مناخ الاقتصاد الكلي يؤثر سلبا على تصنيف مصر، وخاصة فيما يتعلق بارتفاع معدلي البطالة والتضخم، وسوء توزيع الدخل، واتساع العجز المالي رغم انخفاض نسبة الدين العام إلى الناتج المحلي الإجمالي. وبالنسبة لمحفزات الكفاءة، فقد جاء ترتيب مصر منخفضا في كل من فعالية سوق العمل، وفعالية سوق السلع، والتعليم العالي والتدريب. ففي حالة سوق العمل، ثمة مخاوف بشأن جمود القواعد الخاصة بتحديد الأجور وتنظيم العمل، وعدم استغلال المهارات المتاحة بالصورة المثلى، فضلا عن ضعف نظام التفاوض الجماعي في ظل عدم فعالية النقابات العمالية كقنوات شرعية للتعبير عن مخاوف العمال. وذلك بالإضافة إلى أن محدودية المنافسة الداخلية بين غالبية الصناعات وانتشار الممارسات الاحتكارية قد أفضيا إلى تقويض فاعلية سوق السلع. ومازالت هناك حاجة إلى إعادة النظر في مناهج العلوم والرياضيات في التعليم العالي، ومدى جودة كليات الإدارة أو الأعمال وحصول الأفراد على تدريب متخصص عالي الجودة في منشآت الأعمال.

وعلى الرغم من هذه التحديات، فإن كبر حجم السوق المصري وما يكفله ذلك من استغلال اقتصاديات الحجم قد يعمل على تعزيز محفزات الكفاءة. أما بالنسبة لعوامل الابتكار والتطور، فثمة حاجة إلى تطوير الموردين المحليين، وتحسين مستوى التسويق والتوزيع على المستوى الدولي من جانب الشركات المحلية ومدى تواجد هذه الشركات في سلسلة القيمة – الأمر الذي يعد من شروط المشاركة الفعالة في العولمة. كما أن تعزيز تنافسية مصر يتطلب تحسين كثافة البحث العلمي والمؤسسات ومواءمتها لاحتياجات منشآت الأعمال، بالإضافة إلى تعزيز البحوث والتنمية وتأثيرها على الإنتاج والابتكار.

وتجدر الإشارة إلى أن ترتيب مصر في تقرير التنافسية العالمية شهد تراجعا خلال الثلاثة أعوام الأخيرة على التوالي؛ حيث جاء ترتيبها 70 من بين 131 دولة في عام 2009/2010 و81 من بين 139 دولة في عام 2010/2011، ثم 94/142 في عام 2011/2012. ويشير هذا الاتجاه إلى ضرورة تعزيز دور القطاع الخاص في النشاط الاقتصادي، وتقديم مزيد من الدعم للمشروعات الصغيرة والمتوسطة لخلق فرص عمل جديدة، ومن ثم تحسين مستوى العدالة الاجتماعية. وفي هذا السياق، يأتي تطوير التعليم على ذات درجة الأهمية، وذلك لتلبية احتياجات مجتمع الأعمال، ومن ثم حل إشكالية عدم التوافق بين المهارات المعروضة ومتطلبات سوق العمل والتي مازالت حتى الآن تعيق خلق مزيد من فرص العمل. كما أن زيادة الاستثمار في التعليم العالي وتفعيل التدريب بحاجة إلى مراجعة بهدف تحسين جودة النظام التعليمي ونظم تدريب الأفراد في منشآت الأعمال.

  المزيد...

Year Month
Search By Keyword

lk;kl;kl;kl;

Egypt Occupies 94th Position in the WEF 2011-12 Global Competitiveness Index

Speaker(s): Iman Al-Ayouty (ECES)

Sep 2011

Cairo, Egypt [September 25, 2011] - Egypt occupies 94th position (out of 142 countries) in the 2011-12 Global Competitiveness Index (GCI) ranking—13 places lower than the 2010-11 position (out of 139 countries). As a tool used by the World Economic Forum (WEF), the index evaluates how countries fare on competitiveness. Evaluation is based on their performance on three main pillars (‘basic requirements’, ‘efficiency enhancers’ and ‘innovation and sophistication factors’). These pillars are weighted depending on the stage of development that countries fall into (based on GDP/capita and other indicators) so as to calculate their individual GCIs. Egypt’s classification as transitory from a factor- to efficiency-driven economy places the bulk of weight on basic requirements and efficiency enhancers. ECES is a partner institute of the World Economic Forum in the preparation of the Global Competitiveness Report.

Under basic requirements, Egypt’s weakening institutional environment, quality of overall infrastructure and of primary education have greatly contributed to the deterioration in this year’s rank. The institutional environment has been characterised by favouritism and lack of transparency in government officials’ decisions, high business costs of crime and violence, and inadequate corporate governance. The quality of overall infrastructure mainly relates to roads, ports and electricity supply, while primary education calls attention to school quality and curricula. Moreover, issues related to the deteriorating macroeconomic environment continue to loom in the background—high unemployment, high inflation, skewed pattern of income distribution, widening fiscal deficit, albeit with a reduced public debt relative to GDP.Among the efficiency enhancers, Egypt does not fare well either on labour market efficiency, goods market efficiency, or higher education and training. The status of the labour market raises concerns over the rigidity of wage determination and of labour regulations, inefficient use of available talent, and an ineffective system of collective bargaining coupled with the relative absence of trade unions as legitimate venues for voicing employees’ concerns. Efficiency in the goods market remains handicapped by limited local competition across most industries and feeble anti-monopoly practices. Higher education remains in need of revisiting math and science curricula, the quality of management or business schools, and the extent of high quality specialised staff training at the business level.

On a positive note, Egypt’s large market size and great potential for exploiting economies of scale may help reinforce its ‘efficiency enhancers’. Egypt’s innovation and sophistication factors call for addressing the of quality local suppliers, the extent of international marketing and distribution practiced by domestic firms, and the breadth of their presence across the value chain—all being prerequisites of a more effective engagement under globalization. Enhancing Egypt’s competitiveness also requires addressing the quality of scientific research institutions and their twinning with business needs, as well as the intensity of research and development and their implications for product and process innovation.

For perspective, Egypt’s rank has been on a downward trend for three years in a row (rank out of total number of countries): 70/131 (2009/10); 81/139 (2010/11); 94/142 (2011/12). Such a trend points to the need to continue to endorse private-led growth and to support small and medium enterprises in order to mobilise additional demand for labour and help improve social justice. It is equally important to gear educational outcomes more strongly towards business community needs, thereby addressing a pronounced skill mismatch that has, to date, hindered additional employment creation. Increasing investment in higher education and revamping training both call for a thorough review of the quality of the educational system and of the efficiency of staff training at the business level. For further details about this press release, please contact Iman Al-Ayouty (senior economist, ECES)

...
more...